Energy Gel Recipes

I’ve spent years buying various flavors of energy gel. As I shot my last HammerGel this weekend, I decided to try something different: home brew! Google has endless options ranging from simple to downright nutty–at some point it’s worth the expense to just pay for goo rather than spend half a day shopping and the other half of the day cooking.

I thought I would share the two I’ve tried so far. I found several recipes that call for Brown Rice Syrup, barley malt syrup, agave nectar and a whole host of other items I don’t keep in the kitchen. Someday I might get adventurous enough to try making one of these recipes. For now, though, I’m focused on simple recipes that use common ingredients.

I classify this first one as scientific only because it uses Maltodextrin. Otherwise, it’s simple to make and tastes OK. No indication of nutritional quality. It gets 2.5 forks.

  • 3 tbs jelly, any flavor
  • 1/2 cup maltodextrin–check the local liquor store moonshine section
  • 1 tsp vanilla (use the good stuff!)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs liquid-water, gatorade, beer–you pick

Microwave the jelly for 15-20 seconds–just long enough to melt it. Stir in the liquid and then stir in the maltodextrin and salt. Finally, stir in the vanilla. This should make just enough to fill a 4.5oz flask.


My favorite recipe so far is from Dirt Rag and gets extra forks for being simple to make. This one is easy enough to make as your walking out the door. Home-brew Power Goop gets 4.5 forks.

 

  • 7 and 1/3 tbs Honey
  • 3/4 tsp Blackstrap molasses
  • 1/10 tsp of Salt

Mix everything together and pour it-if ever so slowly-into a flask. According to Dirt Rag, power goop provides 25g carbs, 45mg sodium, 35mg potassium. Not bad considering it’s all natural and will keep all day long–neither Honey or molasses require refrigeration.

Leave a Reply

