Paleo Pizza

Traci and I were supposed to go to a Christmas party tonight. But, a three-year-old with a fever meant no babysitter and one of us would have to stay home. Since it was her friend’s party and she had to skip my work’s party because we didn’t have a sitter, she went and I stayed home with the boys. Traci took off and the boys and I settled in for a night in front of ABC Family, which is showing all the classic holiday shows.

“What’s for dinner,” I asked?

Both boys shouted, “PIZ-ZAAAA!”

Hey, that actually sounds pretty good, I thought. Oh yeah…I’m back on a paleo cycle. Hrrrmmmm! Mr. Caveman couldn’t exactly call the Hut or Papa John. But, if you consider what makes up a pizza, it could be made to be [mostly] paleo. Take away the cheese and the flour-based crust, pile on lots of fresh veggies and bada-bing bada-boom. Paleo Pizza.

I asked Uncle Google and he confirmed it. Many others have made pizza paleo style, and several were kind enough to share recipes. I mashed together the basic recipe from Cavegirl in the Kitchen with a few new twists, some of which are not exactly paleo. But, neither is pizza, so why not?! The result was awesome. I thought I’d share my recipe just in case others are searching for a tasty paleo option.

Paleo Pizza Crust

1 egg, beaten
1 cup almond flour
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp fresh rosemary
pinch salt

Mix ingredients together and then spread onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (great suggestion from Cavegirl!). Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes or until the crust is slightly toasted and brown.

Paleo Pizza Sauce

1 8oz can tomato paste (should have been fresh tomatoes, but…)
2 tomatoes, diced
1 tbs olive oil
2 tbs water
2 tbs each fresh oregano & fresh basil, chopped
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbs raw honey
1 tsp butter
onion, diced (sorry no amount. I cook mostly by taste)
1 clove garlic, diced
crushed red pepper, salt & pepper to taste

Heat olive oil over medium heat, then add onions and garlic. Cook for a few minutes to release fragrance. Add tomato paste, diced toms, and water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Add remaining ingredients and simmer until sauce thickens, stirring occasionally.

When crust and sauce are both ready, assemble and bake until heated through. I topped mine with sausage (pre-cooked), mushrooms, onions, sliced tomato, and zucchini (browned in oil with the mushrooms). It took about 1o minutes to cook through. The flavor was much better than I anticipated! Adding rosemary to the crust really pulled everything together. Cavegirl’s suggestion made the crust very pizza-like: thick with a nice crisp on the bottom. This one, or variations of it, will surely be added to regular rotation.

For the boys, I used whole grain tortillas topped with the sauce, sausage, and cheese. Both ate everything on their plates and asked for more. Now, off to watch bad claymation Christmas shows.

2 comments

    1. I’ve never tried cauliflower crust…I’ll have to give that a whirl. The almond-based crust is pretty good, though! Just make certain the dough isn’t too dry before you put it in the over. Otherwise, it will come out really dry. If it is a little dry, just add a little more water. I promise, this one won’t let you down!

Leave a Reply

