Slow Sunday…baking and eBay

Up until midday yesterday, I planned to ride the Belton Gravel Grinder today. But, after seeing the forecast, I decided that I’m not tough enough for a gravel grinder in freezing temps. This year neither my fingers nor toes can take 3-hour rides in sub-freezing temps! Plus with the melting that happened yesterday, I was worried that the roads, despite being gravel, would be super treacherous with the refreezing. I hope those that made it had fun and were able to keep both wheels down.

With plans changed, I woke up this morning with nothing to do. If you know me, that doesn’t go over very well…I need to be doing something all the time. So, question this morning was, “what to do?” Cook! And I did. I started with (almost) Paleo Pumpkin Brownies and then made a funky yet simple version of Huevos Rancheros for breakfast (not paleo due to the kidney beans). Both recipes are listed below. After that, I wasted about 4 hours listing a few items on eBay. I have a closet full of computer/networking stuff that needs to go! After buying something on eBay last night, I was determined to list at least a few items myself. Hopefully someone will need a Cisco Aironet router/bridge, or Samsung monitor, or Nexiq or Autotap heavy vehicle diagnostic equipment.

Pumpkin Pie Brownies

A quick rummage through the pantry showed not much to work with: two cans of pumpkin, cocoa powder, and staples. I Googled recipes with those ingredients and found several recipes for Pumpkin Brownies on Cooks.com. After reading through them, I decided to try making them paleo style. I didn’t make it 100%–I wanted to start easy, but will keep working on the recipe.

Brownie

1 cup canned pumpkin puree (save remaining for topping)
3/4 cup soy flour
1/2 cup raw sugar
1 tbsp arrowroot
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup coconut oil
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp sea salt

Pumpkin Pie Topping

Remaining pumpkin puree
2 tbsp arrowroot
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 tbsp almond milk
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 and grease muffin tin with coconut oil.

Start with the brownie by mixing the pumpkin puree, coconut oil, vanilla, and sugar in a stand mixer or with a hand mixer until smooth. Mix the remaining dry ingredients in a separate bowl, and then sift into the wet mixture. Mix until blended. Divide the brownie mix among 9 large or 12 small muffins. The brownies will not rise, so be sure to spread them evenly. Set aside.

For the pumpkin topping, mix together the remaining pumpkin puree, vanilla, and almond milk. Sift the dry ingredients into a small bowl, and then slowly add to the wet mixture. Top each brownie with equal parts of the topping mix.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Allow to cool completely before serving. I’ll warn you, while not entirely BAD, these brownies are pure evil!

To offset all the sugar from the brownies, I decided to start my day with a high-protein breakfast:

Huevos Rancheros

2 eggs, poached
1/2 can dark red kidney beans
1 cup baby spinach
juice of 1/2 lime
dash cayenne pepper
salsa (optional)
Sliced avocado & tomato

This one is pretty simple: heat the beans, poach the eggs. Once cooked, place the beans on a plate and season with the lime juice and cayenne pepper. Smash lightly and then top with spinach. Add poached eggs and a little salsa. Enjoy with avocado and tomato on the side.

Now, to muster the determination for a 2 to 2.5-hour ride on the trainer…

Leave a Reply

