2015 Dirty Kanza Training Plan

Registration for the Dirty Kanza 200 closed today. Now, it’s time to get busy! The good news is you have plenty of time to build base and get ready for the grueling event. If you’re like me, you are probably asking Uncle Google for training advice or even a training plan.

You’re in luck!

I have 3 different training plans that I’m happy to share for free (a reference if you share the plans would be nice, but there’s no expectations. It would also be great to hear how you did and if the plan helped you. Otherwise, I’m just looking to help you have a great DK experience.) The plans range from my personal plan that I designed to help me finish the DK200 in 12 to 13 hours, down to a version for a buddy who wanted to ride the 100-mile DK Half Pint at a comfortable pace. These will not be customized to your individual needs, but they will provide a great starting point!

Drop me a line or leave a comment below if you’re interested and I’ll share a copy with you. They are Google Spreadsheets so sharing is a snap. Or, I can email a copy if you prefer.

Happy training and good luck!

DK200 Training Plan

A Decade of Dirty

75 comments

    1. Absolutely, Ron. I’ll email a copy to you. Let me know if you have any questions or would like a little help getting ready next year!

    1. Thanks for the interest, Scott! I just emailed a copy to you. Let me know if you have any questions or need help customizing the plan to match your goals. The 2015 DK is just around the corner 😉

  1. Finished the half pint with a group of friends from Team Young Life Tulsa. We’re hooked! And planning to tackle the DK200 in 2016. I’d love a copy of your DK200 plans to share with my crew. Thanks so much!

    1. Great job on the half pint! Heard many stories about how tough it was this year.

      How did you do compared to your goal? Feel good all day?

      I’ll email a copy to you.

  2. Looking ahead to 2016 and was curious if I could get a copy of your training plan. I won’t be using it in Emporia, but would like to use it for the the Gold Rush Gravel Grinder the following week in Spearfish.

  3. Found your blog in a google search. I’m registered for the DK200 this year. Would it be possible to get a copy of your training plan? Thanks. Jen

    1. Hey, Jen! I’m happy to send a copy to you. The email address you provided doesn’t work, though! Can you leave another comment and try entering your email address again (don’t make it public). Thanks! Kory

  4. I’d really appreciate a copy of your plan. I’m headed out to DK for a second attempt and am gathering all the intel I can find. Much appreciated!

  5. I’m interested in your training plan. I’ll be doing the half pint this year and the full ride in 2017

  6. Could you send a copy of your training plans for the 100 and 200, looking to do a 100 later this year and hopefully the DK200 next year. Thanks!

  7. I’d like a copy of your DK200 plan. I’m going to try it in 2017. I’ve done a trio of gravel centuries this year, including the Half Pint and want to try the 200 next year.

  8. I’d like to thank you for the training plan. Training with the plan increased my FTP by about 10% and I’m climbing better than I ever have. The plan was tough, but it helped out very much getting prepared for the 2016 DK200 where about half the field DNF. I made it in to the faster half of my age group (60+ Male). This was my 4th gravel ride ever and my first ultra distance ride. The training along with good mental prep, bike prep and nutrition plan all came together nicely for me. It wasn’t until the last hour really that I noticed my legs getting a bit tired (guess I should have ridden harder!). I hope to return for 2017 and will definitely be using this plan again getting ready for it!

    Steve

    1. Thank you for the kind words, Steve. I love hearing how much impact the plan had on your cycling fitness. You’re right, it’s a tough go. But, the results are worth every ounce of effort. Great job getting it done! Hope to meet you on the road someday. Cheers! Kory

    1. Look for an email from me, Mike. The plan will definitely prepare you for riding longer distances. I look forward to hearing from you.

  9. Are you still willing to share the plans? I’m doing exactly what you thought, googling around trying to figure out how to Train for DK! (other than pray…)

  10. Hello-
    I was wondering if I could get your training plans? Finished dk this year and am wanting to improve for next- just not quite sure how. Thanks so much!

    1. Absolutely. I’ll send you an email so we can decide the plan that best matches your needs. Great job finishing this year!!!

  11. Could you send me a copy of the DK 200 and 100 training plans. I want to evaluate which distance I want to tackle since it’s my first attempt at this event. The training necessary to complete this event will give me a benchmark to be successful based upon my current fitness. My goal is to be successful my first attempt.

    1. Hey, Mark. I tried emailing you but the address you left bounced. If you can, leave another comment with your email address and I’ll get a copy to you. Cheers!

  12. Hey there, I signed up for the DK100 this weekend and am looking for a framework for a training plan. Any chance you could share?

  13. Kory I am a complete newbie to gravel riding. Could you email both the DK100 and DK200 plan. I just bought a Raleigh Tamland 1 and plan on riding the Farmer’s Daughter in 3 weeks. Much appreciated at my end.

    1. Hi, Larry. Here’s the plan. With 3 weeks to go, I recommend 2 weeks of intervals (could be hill repeats if it’s a hilly course) and then 1 week of more endurance work. Look at workouts starting on 4/17 as example.

      Good luck out there! Train hard. Race smart. Kory

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  14. Hi. I plan on entering the DK 200 in 2018 and I would love a copy of your training plan if it is still available! Thank you in advance!

Leave a Reply

